A piece doesn’t always go neatly through the 4 phases. My friend Heather kept gently hinting that she needed a pair of earrings to wear to yoga. You know, the kind of earring that she could put on and forget about. The kind of earring that is not annoying during a belly-down savasana but looks great after class: cooled down, showered & possibly with a touch of make-up (sometimes the cosmetics part is just *too* much ofter class, you know).  So the idea had been percolating in the back of my mind. It was on my general jewelry to-do list, hanging out waiting for the muses to smile on it.  So about the 5th time (thank you for your patience, Heather 🙂 ) she mentioned it, she said: something, something, knot, kinda small, something, something.  When she said ‘knot’  the muses smiled, a light turned on in my head & I swear I heard a bell.  Since I was in the middle of  learning & becoming enamoured with the barrel weave, the stars aligned and within a few hours these came to life:

The Yoga Earring

 

So the next day, and here’s where I deviated from the 4 phases, I gave a pair to Heather for field testing.  *I* had not done all the things I do before I let other people wear my jewelry.  So I’d defined the 4 phases and then almost immediately deviated from them.  Yet in this case it worked like a dream ( I mean, really, the 4 phases aren’t set in stone). Heather put the earrings on then and not only wore them to yoga but slept in them and lived in them. I did the same thing and found them to be a near-perfect earring: practically weightless, look great with hair up or down (this really can be an issue, I promise), not annoying during yoga and just really pretty in a light, delicate way.  So this earring has affectionately been called The Yoga Earring not because they are particularly flexible or in tune with their breathing but because that’s what Heather would always say, “I need a yoga earring.” Feel free to wear them wherever you want. Feel free to try out a yoga class.  Feel free to thank me for both the earrings & your new love of yoga.  Namaste.

A side by side comparison picture of The Yoga Earring and Barrel Weave Earring:

 The Yoga Earring/Barrel Weave Earring  

The Yoga Earring

The Yoga Earring

A delicate single element of the barrel weave makes for the perfect go-anywhere-wear-with-anything-do-anything earring. You might want to keep a pair in your purse/car for those days when you get out of the house without accessorizing.  The earrings drop approximately 1″ from the earring wire.  All Sterling Silver. $35.

